Space City Sabers Event at Barbara Bush Library

It was an event like this at Space City Comic Con when I found my saber family. I came in as someone who was “just interested” and ended up being a regular. And a few months after that at Amazing Houston, I helped teach a big crowd and loved every moment of it. Alas, we were not invited this year at ComicPalooza but this smaller (pun intended) is a total different experience.

All photos are by Miss Mar. ^_^

img_5268
Pinning the cloak to Manny’s Luke Skywalkers costume is like aiming for a moving target… Yup, half of pictures of Manny and me are of me being pissed off at him.

 

img_5287
My goofy self as Battlefront II Rey, little brother Manny as TFA Luke Skywalker and Marcus as Darth Cha’ac.

 

img_5286
Joe is one of those people who is really great with kids. I wish I’d one day learn to easily connect with kids like he does.
img_5285
We taught the little ones the Five-Point Star Defense and Offense. This little girl had a harder time remembering but she sure is good at listening. I’d say I wouldn’t mind her as a Padawan but she sure fights like a Sith! (Look who’s talking…)
img_5284
5-POINT STAR (OFFENSE): Right Leg, Left Shoulder, Right Shoulder, Left Leg, Overhead. 5-POINT STAR (DEFENSE): Left Leg, Right Shoulder, Left Shoulder, Right Leg, Overhead

 

img_5283
She can’t quite get her Overhead so I really had to protect my face. See that nervous smile? Ha!!!

 

img_5282
As much as I thought I’ve progressed this year, there are moments like this when I realize that my feet still aren’t battle ready. Granted, my “enemy” is about 3′ tall but still!!! She aims for the feet.
img_5279
Big Group Photo! We had too many parents taking pictures so we didn’t quite know where to look…
img_5278
Mini-Group Photo
img_5277
SCS Group Photo with my Padawan (Apprentice?) and her older brother.
img_5273
Yeah, umm, I don’t know what we’re all doing in this picture either… LOL
img_5272
The Ladies (and little Angie!) of Space City Sabers

And of course, I couldn’t end the day without having any SHE-NANIGANS!!!

img_5242
Trying to become Darth Cha’ac’s Apprentice.

img_5244
She-nanigan Thwarted by Jedi Master Holly again. Darth Cha’ac doesn’t look amused either way.

img_5267
My Jedi Master Holly ^_^ Aren’t stinkin’ adorkable?!?! And OOH, progress. Decent foot placement for me. Maybe for Makashi? *shrug*
